Subscribe to
Posts
Comments
NSLog(); Header Image

QotD: Emptying the Trash

Question: Do you have the "warn me when emptying the trash" warning turned on or off?

My Answer: Off. And I almost always use the keyboard shortcut. I put stuff in the trash only when I intend to erase it, so I usually just hit cmd-delete, shift-cmd-delete, and voilà! The files are gone. The one or two times I've ever accidentally deleted something, I retrieved it from my nightly backup.

Question inspired by Mike's Trash Bugs.

You are encouraged to answer the Question of the Day for yourself in the comments or on your blog.

2 Responses to "QotD: Emptying the Trash"

  1. I try to eschew the sentimental value of data by never doing nightly backups. If something I want deleted is in the trash, it's there because I know, full-well, that I don't need it anymore. Then again, more oft than not, I use 'rm' to kill stuff I don't want.

    So I have it turned off.

  2. I have the warning turned off. But I think emptying the Trash immediately is a bad habit—backup or not. Some seven years ago I accidently deleted a very important file in a similar manner (Shift-Del on Windows). I had a backup on tape, but it took an hour and a half to find and restore that file and then two more hours to update the content of the file. Since then I like giving my files a second chance.

    Like mns, I also use 'rm -rf' a lot, but that's a different story...


Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Please abide by the comment policy. Valid HTML includes: <blockquote><p>, <em>, <strong>, <ul>, <ol>, and <a href>. Please use the "Quote Me" functionality to quote comments.